So Many Books, So Little Time

8

July 6, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

So I’ve been having a bit of a dilemma recently.  As the illustrious Frank Zappa once said:

“So many books, so little time”

Well said Mr Zappa, well said indeed.  In fact, I couldn’t agree more!

My problem is that I own so many books I haven’t read yet and I don’t know where to start… In fact, thanks to Goodreads, I now know that of the (currently) 295 books on my TBR shelf, I own 124 of them.  That’s right, I own 124 books THAT I HAVEN’T READ.  That’s nearly half the books on my TBR shelf.  Clearly I have issues!  AND, that’s just the physical books – I haven’t even included my ebooks, in part because I haven’t recorded them very well on Goodreads. {I should do that.}

124 books.  That number is daunting to me.  I don’t even want to think about the money I’ve spent on said books that are sitting on my bookshelf, unread in their glory…  But because there’s SO many books, I’ve been struggling to pick which one I want to read at any given time because I want to read ALL OF THEM.  It’s why I bought them after all, I didn’t do it just for funsies.  I had to come up with a solution and I had to do it fast, because the number of unread books just keeps on growing and growing… Of course I could just stop buying books, but we all know that’s not going to happen!

About a year ago, I saw a post somewhere online – I can’t remember where now and I didn’t bookmark it, so if it was you I apologise.  Essentially, the blogger had put all the names of the books he wanted to read in a jar, and each time he finished one he used the jar of book names to help him choose another one.  I personally loved that idea, although I’m not sure how well it’ll work for me because I can be a bit of a mood reader.  Nonetheless, I’ve got to do SOMETHING, so I’ve decided to give it a shot!  As they say on the cooking shows, here’s {a photo of} one I prepared earlier:

photo2

It doesn’t have all of my unread books in there just yet, I still have to add the ones that are at my parent’s house and I’ll use Goodreads to help me do that tonight.  But, it’s certainly fully functioning and I’ve already used it to pick my first read!  My first pick, as you can see from the photo, was Something Like Normal by Trish Doller (review to come) and I loved it!  I’m sure all my recent binge-watching of NCIS: Los Angeles helped to appease the mood reader in me, I’ve got the military on the brain right now 🙂 It’ll be interesting to see how I go with my second choice…

I haven’t put any library books in the jar, because I know I’ll be cranky if I choose one and don’t have it on hand to read straight away because it’s not a part of my collection.  I’m also not going to put any ARCs in the jar, because then I won’t be able to prioritise them and they’ll get lost in the sea of my unread purchased books.  I think what I’ll end up doing is alternating between my books in the jar, any ARCs I receive, and the books I borrow from the library.  Hopefully that system will work for me.

How about you, how do you choose what book to read next?  Do you have a book jar or do you just go where your mood takes you?

8 thoughts on “So Many Books, So Little Time

  1. lissiet says:

    This is a good way to do it! I have such a hard time getting through older TBR books when I am so excited for new books!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  2. anna@herding cats & burning soup says:

    Another blogger I follow just started doing the same thing! I used to do an e-version of this. My tbr pile is even worse than yours *hangs head* I probably have 1000 print books at the house I haven’t read. Library book sales are so my downfall. lol

    Good luck with getting yours all read!

  3. Ah this is such a good idea!! I’m a huge mood reader too, but this sounds like it might be worth a try 🙂

  4. divabooknerd says:

    The first time I seen this idea was over at Kkatie Reads and loved it! I’m the same, I’d hate to think how many unread books I’ve bought and still continue to purchase more. Easily 100 and them some. Two whole shelves on my bookshelf. I’m definitely going to start my jar this week, most of my books I haven’t added to GR, so I have the extra bother of having to go through them all too, plus the 50 or so books I have on my Kindle. It’s so daunting *faints*

    Thanks for sharing.

    • That’s exactly my problem – it would be fine if I was buying books and READING THEM, before buying more, but I’m not doing that! A lot of them I hadn’t added to GR, and I still haven’t tacked my ebooks, but I’ve been home sick the past week and I’ve had a lot of time to get it sorted… I’ve been planning to do this for ages, and finally decided to do so when I was spending so much time sitting on my butt doing nothing 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

