Stacking the Shelves {3}

15

July 5, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and it’s an opportunity to share the books we’re adding to our shelves each week.   The books can be physical or virtual, purchased or borrowed from the library, or even gifted or for review.

This has been an awesome week book wise, personal life not so much.  I won’t bore you with the details but it involves a sinus infection and several days home from work flat out on the couch.  Not my idea of fun!  On the plus side, I did do some reading during that time and I also received an awesome package from Simon & Schuster Australia, yay!  Here’s a look at what I got this week:

For Review

photo1

All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner
The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss
Saree by Su Dharmapala
Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates

So I had a surprise email from Simon & Schuster Australia this week, asking me if I’d like to be added to their blogger list – my answer was a resounding yes!  A few days later, I received this lovely welcome package in the mail 🙂 All of these books sound great; I almost bought Saree last weekend and I’ve particularly wanted to read The Year of the Rat for a while now.  Thanks again to Simon & Schuster Australia!

Bought

photo2

Paper Towns by John Green
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

As per usual, I couldn’t keep myself away from Big W 🙂 I’ve heard great things about both of these books and I can’t wait to read them.

Borrowed

photo3

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
Night Film by Marisha Pessl

I had a visit from my parents last weekend and they brought with them these books that they’d picked up from the library for me – aren’t they the best!  I’ve already read If I Stay and Open Road Summer this week; the reviews shouldn’t be too far away.

There you have it, that’s my post for the week!  Did you add any new books to your shelf this week?

15 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves {3}

  1. Fiza @ I'll Read Till I Drop says:

    Great haul, I’m really wanting to read Paper Towns as well 😀
    Hope you enjoy all your books!

    My new pretties 🙂

  2. kimberlyfaye says:

    I really enjoyed Paper Towns and I *love* that cover! If I Stay, Open Road Summer, Maybe One Day and The Sea of Tranquility each got five-star ratings from me. I hope you enjoy them and all the others!

    My StS!

  3. Nicole says:

    New follower via bloglovin’ 🙂

    You got some good titles! Here’s my STS.
    Have a great weekend!

  4. Cait says:

    I’ve been meaning to read If I Stay! With all the fuss that’s coming out with the movie, I need in on the book beforehand. 😉 Oooh, yay for awesome emails from Simon and Schuster! I LOVED Year of the Rat! It’s freakishly sad, but the ending is sweet.
    My Stacking the Shelves!

    • That’s why I read If I Stay now – I wanted to read it before the movie came out, but if there’s one thing I learned from The Book Thief it was to let some time go by between reading the book and watching the movie. Otherwise I’m way too nitpicky! And I loved it so bonus! Simon and Schuster are awesome and very lovely, and I’m really looking forward to The Year of the Rat 🙂

  5. Hope you feel better this week! I still need to buy The Bone Season since I’ve heard a lot of things about it. I really enjoyed Side Effects May Vary (though others seemed not to) Happy reading! 🙂
    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  6. Jamie (Jay) says:

    The Bone Season is one I need to go get soon. Hope you like it and these others. Happy Reading!
    Here are my newest additions.

  7. Great haul this week! I recently won The Year of the Rat and I can’t wait to read it, I hope I end up loving it. Open Road Summer is another one I am eager to read, recently bought that one and am really looking forward to it. I hope you enjoy your reads this week 🙂 Here’s my STS.

  8. […] at the moment, see previous question 🙂 I still have all the library books listed in this post, and this one, and this one […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

