Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Classic Books On My Radar

17

July 1, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Classic Books!  They can be books you’ve read, books you want to read, whatever spin you want to take on the topic.  I’ve decided to focus on Classics I Love and Classics I Want to Read.  Anyhoo, in no particular order here’s my list 🙂

Classics I Adore

TTT Classics 1.1

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – This is the ulitmate for me, I adore it!
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen – Another great read by Jane Austen, and I also love the film adaptation.
Little Women Series by Louisa May Alcott – Another series I’ve loved since childhood, and it’s stood the test of time for me like the others on this list.
Anne of Green Gables Series by L.M. Montgomery – I have adored this series since childhood, I’ve always wanted my own Gilbert Blythe!
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – This book opened my (very young) eyes to the atrocities of the Holocaust, very sad and moving read.

Classics On My TBR & Also On My Bookshelf

I have a lot of classic books I want to read, so I decided to narrow it down to the ones I’m keen to read that are also sitting on my bookshelf right now 🙂

TTT Classics 2.1The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Emma by Jane Austen
Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates

I’ve had most of these for YEARS and I have no idea why I haven’t read them yet!  Actually, I do know why, my super procrastination skills strike again… Maybe 2014 will be my year, or what’s left of it anyway 🙂

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Classic Books On My Radar

  1. The Diary of a Young Girl. Great choice. Absolutely moving and eye-opening.
    I really like The Three Musketeers. You know, I’ve been meaning to read The Picture of Dorian Gray too.
    My TTT!

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I absolutely loved Little Women. I thought it was a fantastic classic that I still re-read as an adult. I also have Tess of The D’Urbervilles on my classics TBR!

  3. I can honestly say I’ve only read Diary of a Young Girl. And I think twice because it was assigned in school twice. :/ I love the story of the Picture of Dorian Gray but I keep losing my book every time I start it.

  4. Great picks. I haven’t read any of these. :/ I’m hoping to read more classics soon!
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  5. Anne Frank is definitely a powerful novel, and it’s one I had to read in school but definitely didn’t appreciate until I got older. Pride and Prejudice, however, I will ALWAYS love. Fantastic list 🙂

  6. The Picture Of Dorian Gray made my Classics TBR list too! I also adore Pride & Prejudice 🙂

    Check out my TTT!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

  7. Giselle says:

    I love Pride and Prejudice its soo amazing! I haven’t read Little Women but i’ve heard so many good things about it and i would love to read it!

  8. elena says:

    ANNE CAME SO CLOSE TO MY LIST BECAUSE I NEED TO READ IT! I devoured a good portion of children’s classic lit but can’t believe I never read Anne!!

    • I read and reread Anne so many times when I was growing up, I used to borrow it from the library and then one year I remember buying them with my mum and then they disappeared. A few weeks later I got them for Christmas – even back then I was very fussy about my series having the same covers throughout and mum knew that, so she took me shopping with her so I could pick them out! I was young enough that I was easily distracted and forgot about it until Christmas rolled around 🙂 But I encourage everyone to read them!

  9. Jane Austen – yes! P&P will always be my personal favorite, but I love Persuasion too. The only book I haven’t read by her is Mansfield Park, and I honestly have no desire to haha.

    Oh, Thomas Hardy. He is super depressing lol.

    • I’ve read Mansfield Park but I wouldn’t be encouraging others to read it – unless if they’re a huge Austen fan and they feel that their life isn’t complete until they’ve read all of her works. It’s not her best, but I suppose I can’t really make that comment without having read Persuasion and Emma!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

