Stacking the Shelves {2}

16

June 28, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly haul meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, and it’s an opportunity to share the books we’re adding to our shelves each week. The books can be physical or virtual, purchased or borrowed from the library, or even gifted or for review.

It’s been a few weeks since my last post! The past week has been so crazy with work and Wimbledon watching, I’ve had hardly any time to read let alone get books but I managed πŸ™‚ I don’t (usually) get books every week, so I’m not going to be posting weekly, but I did manage to pick up a few this week.Β  My love affair with Book Depository and Big W continues!Β  Although, I did go to Big W today and left without buying a book; it’s been a while since I’ve done that!Β  PROGRESS.

Bought

photo1

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
When Dogs Cry by Markus Zusak
Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

I read The Distance Between Us last year and I loved it so much I just HAD to get a copy for my personal collection.Β  I’m planning a reread and will post a review after that.Β  I adore Markus Zusak and when I spottedΒ When Dogs Cry for $12 at Big W (last week!) I just had to get it, I’m sure it’ll be brilliant.Β  As forΒ Rules of Summer, I’ve heard good things.Β  I couldn’t find it at my local library and then couldn’t resist when it was only $6.50 on Book Depository!

My non-Aussie friends might be wondering why I get excited by those prices, but if you go to a bookstore in Australia you’re usually looking at paying AT LEAST $20 for a book, and that’s paperback.Β  Don’t even get me started on the price of hardbacks here!Β  Although, they are admittedly nowhere near as common in Australia unless it’s a big book.

photo2

Getting Past No: Negotiating in Difficult Situations by William Ury
Getting to Yes: Negotiating an Agreement Without Giving In by Roger Fisher & William Ury

These were work purchases, to help me with my negotiation.Β  It’s a daily part of my job, and these books were recommended at a seminar I attended three months ago.Β  I got there eventually!

Well there you have it, that’s my post for the week!Β  Did you add any new books to your shelf this week?

16 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves {2}

  1. I’ve always wanted to read the Distance Between Us! Nice pick! πŸ™‚

    New follower here. πŸ™‚

  2. Cait says:

    Woah The Rules of Summer is super cheap! Haha, don’t tempt me. πŸ˜‰ And I mustn’t have visited for a while, but gosh, the blog has changed! I love it! πŸ™‚
    My Stacking the Shelves!

  3. The Rules of Summer sounds like my kind of book. I need to grab myself a copy.
    I also need to get a copy of The Distance Between Us for my book shelf. Loved that book so much! πŸ™‚
    Happy reading!

    Nick – My Haul

  4. lissiet says:

    I just requested a hold on The Distance Between Us at the library! I hope we both enjoy it!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  5. fiza says:

    The Distance Between Us and The Rules of Summer look like awesome summer reads. Hope you’ll enjoy them πŸ˜€

    My few additions πŸ˜‰

  6. jirrine says:

    I am currently reading the Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I am really looking forward to read some other books by him. Both The Distance Between Us and The Rules of Summer are chilling on my wishlist. Have fun with your reads!

  7. I recently read On the Fence which is also my first Kasie West and LOVED it, so now I’m buying the rest of hers when I can. πŸ™‚ Happy reading!

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  8. The Distance Between Us! Love that book so much. It’s my favorite Kasie West book. It’s rare that I like a boy and girl equally in a romance, but Xander and Caymen are just so amazing on their own and together. I had to have a copy for my shelf, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

