Flashback Friday: So Much To Tell You by John Marsden

2

June 27, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction Fare
Flashback Friday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Fiction Fare and Swoony Boys Podcast, shining the spotlight on books that are at least two years old 🙂

Today’s book I’ve chosen is So Much To Tell You by John Marsden, a high school favourite of mine.  I remember that this book played a big part of my life when I was in Year 8, as it was the school play for that year.  I missed out on being in the performance, largely because I wasn’t too keen (I’m more of a behind-the-scenes type!) but also because I was overseas at the time of the performance.

This book is one of John Marsden’s lesser known, given the popularity of the Tomorrow series, but it is every bit as awesome!  I love to shine the spotlight on Aussie classics, and this book is certainly one of them.  Enjoy!

So Much To Tell You by John Marsden
Publisher/Year: Originally published by Franklin Watts in 1987 (it’s older than me!)
Genre: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction
Available Formats: Paperback, audiobook, eBook

GoodreadsBook Depository | Audible | iTunes

iTunes Synopsis

“I don’t know what I’m doing here. Well, I do really … I have been sent here to learn to talk again. Sent here because my mother can’t stand my silent presence at home. Sent here because of my face…”

She watches; she dreams. She sees more than they realise. She has worries and fears, hopes and desires. She is troubled; she is angry. Above all, she is lonely. She may be someone you know. She may be you.

In John Marsden’s acclaimed debut novel, she tells her story, with humour and insight, with sensitivity and strength, with painful honesty. You will never forget her.

When it was originally published, SO MUCH TO TELL YOU won a Children’s Book Council Book of the Year Award, a Victorian Premier’s Award and a Christopher Medal (USA), as well as being selected by the American Library Association as a Best Book for Young Adults.


2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: So Much To Tell You by John Marsden

  1. jaimearkin says:

    Ohhhh I’ve never heard of this before and I love love that cover!! Adding this to my TBR list!!

    Thanks for participating in Flashback Friday!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

