Flashback Friday: On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Leave a comment

May 30, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction Fare
Flashback Friday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Fiction Fare and Swoony Boys Podcast, shining the spotlight on books that are at least two years old 🙂

Today’s book I’ve chosen is On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, in honour it being one of my favourites.  I’ve already reviewed it but I had to mention anyway 🙂 You can check out my review here!

On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (known as Jellicoe Road internationally)
Publisher/Year: Penguin Australia, 2006
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook

GoodreadsBook Depository | Amazon | iTunes

Goodreads Synopsis

I’m dreaming of the boy in the tree. I tell him stories. About the Jellicoe School and the Townies and the Cadets from a school in Sydney. I tell him about the war between us for territory. And I tell him about Hannah, who lives in the unfinished house by the river. Hannah, who is too young to be hiding away from the world. Hannah, who found me on the Jellicoe Road six years ago.

Taylor is leader of the boarders at the Jellicoe School. She has to keep the upper hand in the territory wars and deal with Jonah Griggs – the enigmatic leader of the cadets, and someone she thought she would never see again.

And now Hannah, the person Taylor had come to rely on, has disappeared. Taylor’s only clue is a manuscript about five kids who lived in Jellicoe eighteen years ago. She needs to find out more, but this means confronting her own story, making sense of her strange, recurring dream, and finding her mother – who abandoned her on the Jellicoe Road.

The moving, joyous and brilliantly compelling new novel from the best-selling, multi-award-winning author of Looking for Alibrandi and Saving Francesca.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

