Book Tea Party Tag: Happy Blogoversary Notebook Sisters!

4

May 26, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

The Notebook Sisters are turning 3! Huzzah! And what better way for Cait and Mime to celebrate than with a week-long party AND an Alice in Wonderland theme! Not only that, they’re giving away Alice in Wonderland themed notebooks – how perfect! You should definitely stop by and celebrate with them, they’re pretty awesome 🙂

The first part of the celebration is this Book Tea Party Tag, and true to form it’s Alice themed. I HAD to participate, so here I go!

1. Just Alice: What book covers have made you super curious?

Definitely Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour, Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid and Something Real by Heather Demetrios for some more recent picks. I haven’t read any of these books yet but the covers are just so intriguing.

2. Mad Hatter: List the craziest character(s) you’ve ever read.

Hmmm, this is a tough one! Professor Dumbledore was pretty out there, in an endearing kind of way, and President Snow wasn’t exactly the sanest guy going around. Actually, Dolores Umbridge was probably the craziest of them all, I did NOT like her. I’d probably have more choice if I didn’t mainly stick to the romances, huh!

3. Red Queen, Off With Your Head! What book have you felt like beheading?

I didn’t really enjoy The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine (review), The Other Summer Girl by Sarah D. Towne (review) or Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown (review), but I don’t know that I’d go so far to behead them. I’m not sure that I’m the beheading type! To be honest, it’s rare that I hate a book so much to justify a beheading.

Actually, I take that back. I definitely wanted to behead Forget You by Jennifer Echols, I DID NOT like that book AT ALL (review). There, that’s one book I wanted to behead 🙂

4. White Rabbit: What books or series have been insanely popular but you’ve been “late” to pick them up?

So, I didn’t read The Hunger Games until last year… That’s right, 2013. I got the series for Christmas from my brother after I saw The Hunger Games and Catching Fire movies, because I was so desperate to read the books to find out what happened. If you know me, you’ll know I’m firmly against seeing the movie before reading the book, but in this case it didn’t work out that way. Within the space of two weeks, I saw the two films and read the three books. And then I kicked myself for not reading them sooner! This isn’t unusual for me, I didn’t start reading Harry Potter until Goblet of Fire was already out… I also only read The Book Thief in January! What can I say, I have issues 🙂

5. Caterpillar: What’s the most confusing book you’ve read?

Oedipus Rex by Sophocles, hands down! I had to read this for school many years ago, so it wasn’t by choice, but I spent the entire time thinking “WTF.” This did not compute for me! The Girl with the Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier was also pretty confusing for me, I really didn’t do well with books I was forced to read for school – it became all too analytical for me.

6. Dormouse: What was the last book that sent you to sleep?

I haven’t read anything that’s put me to sleep, at least not that I can recall. I might be a bit sleepy at times and doze off while I’m reading, but that’s my fault – I can’t blame whatever book I was reading at the time!

7. Cheshire Cat: Book that made you laugh and smile?

I recently reread Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta, and I’d forgotten how much this book used to make me laugh and smile. All those feels came rushing back during the reread, and that made me so happy! I think I’ve always found this one to be a funny read (in parts) because I can really relate to the Italian-Australian culture; it’s so spot on and it reminded me a lot of my nonna. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick was also pretty funny (review), I laughed at pretty much everything George said, he’s so cute!

8. Knave of Hearts: Most recent character who stole your heart?

Callie and Alex from Where the Stars Still Shine both definitely stole my heart (review). She was so strong and resilient, despite all the odds being stacked against her, and he was just so gorgeous! George from My Life Next Door stole my heart with his cuteness, he so adorable and I just wanna smush his face 🙂

9. Jabberwocky: Best villain you’ve read this year?

I don’t think I’ve read any villains this year, or even many in the past… I don’t really go looking for villains but I’ve enjoyed them in the past. I mean, there was the Nazis in The Book Thief, and I only mention that because I read it this year, but I wouldn’t really call them the best villain… Villainous, yes, but the best? I don’t think so. Hmmm, can you guys recommend me any good villains?

10. Down the Rabbit Hole: What’s the latest book/series/author that’s completely swallowed your interest?

For newbie authors (to me at least), I’m HOOKED on anything by Morgan Matson, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Jennifer E. Smith, Stephanie Perkins and Trish Doller at the moment. These are all authors I’ve found through book blogs and I’m so grateful for that. And I’m SO excited for the release of Isla and the Happily Ever After, just over 2.5 months to go! Not that I’m counting down or anything… As for old favourites, I’m having a Melina Marchetta reread at the moment – I recommend her to EVERYONE and it would be remiss of me not to mention her here.

There you have it! That’s it from me, if you want to see other people’s responses you’ll find them in the linky here 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Tea Party Tag: Happy Blogoversary Notebook Sisters!

  1. I almost put Umbridge down for my villain. And I also didn’t get into HP until Goblet of Fire (the movie) was out.

    I haven’t read the full Oedipus, but we did read Antigone for one of my college classes. I liked it, though it was very tragic, obviously.

  2. Cait says:

    ISLA!!! *counts down with you* Need that. I didn’t think I’d like Lola as much as Anna, but seriously! I can’t even choose between them. Lola + Cricket = adorable maximum. AHEM. Moving on, shall we? 😉 I’m glad you’re not the beheading type. 😉 There’s only about 5 or so books I’ve ever rated 1 star. So out of the 100s I review each year I think that’s not too bad! lol!
    Thanks so so much for linking up with us. XD Eeeeeh!! *passes party cake*

  3. acatris says:

    I was actually in the play of Oedipus Rex a few years ago (Oedipus had to throw a sheep’s eye into the audience, he couldn’t see – obviously – and hit me in the face with it – fun times!) and even after a week of being in the chorus and hearing the words over and over again it still made me think WTF ;P

    Completely agree about Dolores 😛

    http://www.anastasiacatris.com/alice-in-wonderland-blog-party

  4. I want to read Everything Leads to You so bad! I loved Hold Still by the same author, and I’m really into LGBTQ books so I just can’t wait to read Everything Leads to You! Sadly I don’t really buy hardcovers, so there better be a Kindle version soon or I’ll have to wait forever for the paperback. *pouts*

    Haha, what did you find confusing about Oedipus Rex? I study Classics at uni, so this made me laugh. There are far more confusing things in the realm of Classics (god, my brain hurts so much sometimes when doing reading for my degree), so I guess I must be used to it or something.

    Ahh, I haven’t read Looking for Alibrandi and it was recommended to me on one of my discussion posts, and this made me want to read it even more. I’ve not read much YA that isn’t recent, so I guess that’s a good place to start!

    For #9, same, I can’t really think of any villains I like? Personally they don’t seem to catch my interest… Or maybe I’m just reading the wrong books.

    Here’s my tea party blog tag!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

