Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books About Friendship

6

May 20, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten Books About Friendship!  I struggled a bit with this topic, I don’t usually read a lot of books that focus on friendships. I’m not sure why, because I’ve enjoyed the ones I have so far!  Anyhoo, here’s my list 🙂

  1. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta: Marchetta writes amazing and powerful friendships in all of her books, but this one stood out the most for me. Saving Francesca is a book about family and love and many other things, but at its core it’s also a book about friendship. It’s about Francesca finding her way at St Sebastian’s and finding a group of friends when she thought she was all alone and least expected it.
  2. #16thingsithoughtweretrue by Janet Gurtler: I adore the friendship between Morgan, Adam and Amy, it was the best part about this book! Seeing Morgan open up to people beyond her Twitter TL was fantastic, and it should push us all to challenge our own preconceptions.
  3. Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando: While this book wasn’t my favourite, it can’t be denied that it is a book about friendship.  This is a story about two girls who don’t know each other from a bar of soap, and what starts out as stilted and full of misunderstandings grows into something much more.
  4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: There are so many beautiful friendships in this book, I can’t decide which is my favourite! There’s the fatherly friendship between Leisel and Hans, or the secretive friendships between Leisel and Max and Hans and Max, or the childhood friendship between Leisel and Rudy. Despite all the awful things that happen in The Book Thief, the friendships within it are a shining light.
  5. Ashbury/Brookfield series by Jaclyn Moriarty: These books are all about friendship! Set in two high schools with a pen pal program between them, we get to see the various students make new friends and still keep the old. They go through good times and bad times but the beauty of friendship is that they all band together to work it out each time.
  6. Queen Kat, Carmel and St Jude Get a Life by Maureen McCarthy: I’ve previously said that McCarthy writes amazing coming-of-age stories, and this book is another such tale.  These characters do not start out as friends, having grown up in the same rural town and moved to Melbourne together for university. They have nothing in common and they travel a difficult path, but they get there eventually. It’s not always smooth sailing in friendships!

There you have it, that’s my list!  How about you, what did you have on your list?  Have you got any others that you could recommend to me?

P.S. My internet is down (I know, I know – the horror!) and this posted even though it’s not finished and I’d cancelled the scheduled post from my iPad. I’ll finish the post and add in the cover photos once I’m reconnected to civilisation, so feel free to check back in later. And let me tell you, Dodo will be getting an earful from me if I’m not connected by the time I wake up in the morning. (Yes my ISP is called Dodo and no I’m not kidding) 🙂

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books About Friendship

  1. I still can’t believe I haven’t read The Book Thief yet. That has to happen this summer, seriously.. Wonderful list! 🙂

  2. The Book Thief made my list! It’s my favourite book!

    Check out my TTT!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

  3. Cait says:

    I really really really need to read The Book Thief…I watched the movie first (I KNOW. THE HORROR) but I adored how the actors portrayed Leisel and Hans…and also Leisel and Rudy. So much awesome. I cried. (Naturally.) 😄

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

