Z is for… Zen Music!

2

May 1, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

For today’s post, I thought I’d share what I like to call “zen” music. The music I’m sharing isn’t zen in the traditional sense of the meaning and I certainly don’t practice the faith of zen. I hope this post isn’t insulting to anyone who does! Rather, this follows the Urban Dictionary definition of zen, being “complete and absolute peace.”

The following songs are the tracks I love which are calming for me. They may not all be a usual choice but they bring me peace, and I feel relaxed and self-reflective when I hear them. I hope you don’t mind this little indulgence!

John Mayer – Free Fallin’
This is a cover but there’s something about this song that just makes me sit and close my eyes whenever I hear it. Mayer’s vocals are sublime, especially on the last minute and a half of this track. I’m so pleased to have seen this live recently at his concert last week! It was such a beautiful and moving experience.

Howie Day – Collide
I have no idea how I stumbled across this song and how it made its way into my iTunes but I’ve loved it ever since. There’s also a really great acoustic version of this song, and I think I almost prefer it to the original. Check it out!

Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why
Let me tell you a secret – I never used to be a fan of Norah Jones! That being said, I also never used to be a fan of John Mayer and lol where I am now! I’m a firm believer that musical tastes grow and change over time, and this is an example of that.

Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up
I can’t hear this song without thinking of Packed to the Rafters! Fellow Aussies will probably know what I mean 🙂 That aside, this song has such a wonderful melody and meaning, I can’t go past it.

Justin Timberlake – Not a Bad Thing
I could’ve chosen many of Timberlake’s recent songs – Pusher Love Girl and Strawberry Bubblegum certainly come to mind – but in huge end I went with Not a Bad Thing. It just has this relaxing quality about it, for me anyway 🙂 I really hope it features in the set list when I see his concert later this year!

Matchbox Twenty – Overjoyed
This was a tough one! I couldn’t decide between this and Back 2 Good – there’s no competition for my favourite MB20 song, but I think Overjoyed is my current MB20 zen song 🙂

Tyler Hilton – Missing You
As much as I was a huge fan of One Tree Hill, I will always be thankful that it introduced me to the awesome music of Tyler Hilton. This is another cover

That’s enough I think! I could do a whole other post on my favourite songs, but that’s not what this was about so I hope you guys enjoyed it. What about you guys, what songs do you love that make you feel zen? Share them with me, I’m always looking for more!

This is the final post for the A to Z Challenge! I can’t believe how fast that went, I’m already looking forward to doing it again next year 🙂

2 thoughts on “Z is for… Zen Music!

  1. celeste says:

    Ohh I love John Mayer 🙂 and the other songs!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

