Y is for… Young Adult!

2

April 29, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!  You’ve got an hour left to go! Check it out here 🙂

I love reading Young Adult fiction, and that’s not really a secret.  Don’t get me wrong, I love reading all kinds of fiction, but YA is really the genre that I enjoy the most.  But people can be really judgey about this and that can be so annoying!

Okay, so some of the covers can be a bit poxy and you may think the subject matter is just for teenagers, but I’m here to tell you that you’re wrong.  There are a multitude of great YA books out there that appeal to all age groups, too many for me to name at 11 o’clock at night as I’m writing this – although recent reads The Book Thief and Where the Stars Still Shine certainly spring to mind.  After all, the genre is not just named for its intended audience as many people mistakenly assume.  Instead, the genre is named for the age group of the main characters that are the focus of the novel at hand, which generally tends to appeal to young adults given that they are around the same age group.  However, people shouldn’t assume that they’re the only ones who get enjoyment out of YA, or that adults are somehow deficient for reading YA.

I don’t think I can really do this topic justice, especially after reading this post from Judith at Paper Riot. You should totally check it out, she puts everything clearly and succinctly without resorting to shaming the judgey people.  I was totally cheering and yelling YEAH as I read each paragraph 🙂 Like Judith, I too read YA because it makes me happy but I don’t exclusively read YA.  Sure, it forms the bulk of my reading but it’s not the only thing I read.  Some may think I’ve got issues for reading YA, I take the view that it makes me more well-rounded 🙂 After all, I adore contemporaries and romance novels; should it matter if the genre is YA or adult?

I recently retweeted the following from Gayle Forman, author of the If I Stay series and the Just One Day series, and I think this sums up my views perfectly:

I couldn’t have put it better myself.

2 thoughts on “Y is for… Young Adult!

  1. bookmammal says:

    I posted about Young Adult for my “Y” post today, too–and I’m looking for recommendations!

  2. I love YA fiction too! I read widely but I love my young adult books. Gayle Forman is wonderful.

    Glad I found your blog from the A to Z Challenge! Here’s mine on Memorable Characters

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

