V is for… Vacation!

2

April 25, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!  Check it out here 🙂

I’ve been enjoying a bit of a mini-vacation of late, a staycation at my parents’ house in Melbourne for the past week. Not only have we Aussies had the Easter long weekend, today is also ANZAC Day, a national holiday in both Australia and New Zealand. For those of you who may not be familiar with this, ANZAC Day originally commemorated the first landing of the ANZACs (Australian and New Zealand Army Corps) in Gallipoli on 25 April 1915, but it now broadly commemorates all of those who served and died in all conflicts, peacekeeping missions and wars, along with the suffering and contribution of those who served. It is one of the most solemn occasions on the Australian calendar, particularly given that Remembrance Day on 11 November is not a national holiday. See more here. Lest we forget.

But I digress! Australians have essentially had three public holidays in the space of a week, between Good Friday, Easter Monday and now ANZAC Day. I’ve worked a lot of overtime lately and had a few things planned in Melbourne on the days in between Easter Monday and ANZAC Day (John Mayer concert first and foremost!), plus my brother was coming home (he works away on the other side of the country) so I decided to take those three days off and use my stored up overtime. Therefore, no annual leave used, winning! Whilst it’s been a break from work, and I know I certainly needed one, it hasn’t really felt like a vacation because I’ve been staying at my parents’ house. To put it into perspective, I lived here until 15 months ago and spend most weekends here, especially during footy season. As nice as it’s been to be here, t’s felt like a REALLY long weekend instead! That’s why I’m calling it a staycation even though it’s not technically my home any more, it sure feels like it is!

Of course, it wasn’t that long ago that I went on a holiday, last September I travelled to the US for a three week holiday with a friend and we had a great time. It was jam packed but I came back feeling really refreshed and energised. The problem is that I work in a job that is high energy and high pressure, all the time, and it can be easy to feel a little burnt out after a while. Aside from the odd public holiday here and there, this staycation has been the longest break I’ve had since that trip, because I didn’t take any time off over Christmas and the New Year period. Before I went to the US last year, my last holiday had been in February 2011 when I spent a week in Hawaii, and before that another three weeks in the US in 2009. While I used to be content with taking a holiday every couple of years, I think the nature of my job means I will have to take holidays a little bit more frequently than that to avoid feeling burnt out.

Of course, this means that I’m already thinking about my next holiday, and it hope to take some time off later this year to go somewhere, even if it is only for a week. I think I’ll feel more refreshed than I have from this staycation if I go somewhere different and remove myself from my usual routine. I have so many places I want to visit, both in Australia and overseas. I’d love to go to Western Australia and check out Perth, Fremantle, the Margaret River Wine Region. Rottnest Island, the list goes on! I’d love to go back to Port Douglas and relax for a week, or maybe visit Noosa. I’m definitely going to go to Hobart some time this year for a long weekend to visit a friend because I didn’t get there last year and I really want to go! Plus, the last time I was in Hobart I didn’t get to do half the things I wanted to do – I didn’t even get to got to Mona! I’d love to go to Fiji, or Vanuatu or even back to Hawaii.

It’s so much fun to think about all this and to plan a trip in my head. I love checking out all the things you can do in each of these places, because I know I’ll get there someday. The internet is a wonderful tool when it comes to planning a holiday! Of course, I need someone to holiday with, and as a single gal that’s the next hurdle to jump 🙂 I’m sure it won’t be too hard to find a friend to pal around with, and certainly not in Hobart!

Do you have any holiday plans or any plans to take a vacation? Or have you just come back from somewhere amazing? Please share, I’d love to hear all about it 🙂

2 thoughts on “V is for… Vacation!

  1. Cait says:

    I’ve just come back from holidays actually…haha, how timely right? 😉 I still live at home, and my parents are HUGE travellers, so we’ve been all over NT and eeeverywhere in QLD. We live in NSW now, but weirdly enough we haven’t gone around NSW much yet. Australia is a really awesome country. Happy holidays though!! I LOVE how we get these bunch of holidays really close. x)

    • The bunch of holidays is great, in fact I love the first half of the year for all its public holidays! I dunno about NSW but in VIC there’s only one public holiday between the Queen’s Birthday in early June and Christmas, and that’s Melbourne Cup Day in November. Of course, if you live in a regional town that has it’s own race meet like I do, you get that town’s Cup Day as a public holiday instead of Melb Cup, but only the one public holiday in six months pretty much sucks when you work full time! Especially after all the hols in the first half of the year… Methinks I’m going to have to plan some time off in Sept or Oct, avoiding school holidays of course!
      My parents are huge travellers as well but we’ve done more of the overseas travel than in Australia. I’ve been to Sydney and Coffs Harbour in NSW, I’ve done the Gold Coast in QLD MANY times as a child and also the stretch between Townsville and Port Douglas once. I’ve also been Tassie once before, but despite living in VIC for all my life, I’ve done surprisingly little of regional VIC! It’s a bit sad how little Aussie travel I’ve done when you consider how awesome this country of ours is; clearly this is something I need to change!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

