Q is for… Quotes!

3

April 19, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!  Check it out here 🙂

Today, I thought I’d share some of my favourite quotes and passages from books and authors I love.  These quotes have all resonated with me in some way.  They might be funny, cute, romantic or sad, but they’re all too good to keep hidden 🙂 Here we go!

“What a slut time is. She screws everybody.”

John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

“Tomorrow will be better.”
“But what if it’s not?” I asked.
“Then you say it again tomorrow. Because it might be. You never know, right? At some point, tomorrow will be better.”

Morgan Matson, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”

Jane Austen

“Reading one book is like eating one potato chip.”

Diane Duane, So You Want to Be a Wizard

“If you weren’t driving, I’d kiss you senseless,” I tell him.
He swerves to the side of the road and stops the car abruptly.
“Not driving any more.”

Melina Marchetta, On the Jellicoe Road

“Comfort zones are overrated.  They make you lazy.”

Melina Marchetta, Saving Francesca

“Why were you lurking under our window?”
“Yes – yes, good point, Petunia! What were you doing under our windows, boy?”
“Listening to the news,” said Harry in a resigned voice.
His aunt and uncle exchanged looks of outrage.
“Listening to the news! Again?”
“Well, it changes every day, you see,” said Harry.”

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.”

Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

“Mr. Moony presents his compliments to Professor Snape, and begs him to keep his abnormally large nose out of other people’s business.
Mr. Prongs agrees with Mr. Moony, and would like to add that Professor Snape is an ugly git.
Mr. Padfoot would like to register his astonishment that an idiot like that ever became a professor.
Mr. Wormtail bids Professor Snape good day, and advises him to wash his hair, the slimeball.”

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

“Both Rowling and Meyer, they’re speaking directly to young people. … The real difference is that Jo Rowling is a terrific writer and Stephenie Meyer can’t write worth a darn. She’s not very good.”

Stephen King

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

That’s enough, I think!  I could go on and on…  What about you, do you have a favourite quote?  If so, share it with me!

3 thoughts on “Q is for… Quotes!

  1. Cait says:

    I love that one of Harry Potter and the news. lol 😉 I’ve only read the first 3 of those, so I’m probably not up to that one yet! And the potato chip one! YES. That is one of life’s greatest truths.

  2. I LOVE quotes. Excellent post. 🙂

    Stopping by from the #atozchallenge !
    @JLenniDorner

  3. Now that is quite a variety of quotes ! #AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

