K is for… Knee-Slapping at the Funnies: The Melbourne International Comedy Festival!

Leave a comment

April 12, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

 

Don’t forget to check out my giveaway!  Check it out here 🙂

So, it’s that time of year again, time for the Melbourne International Comedy Festival to drain my bank account and I try to fit in as many shows as possible in a short period of time.  Last year, my friends and I made the mistake of going to see four shows in one weekend – holy crap, that was a lot of comedy in a short period of time!  This year, we’ve spread it out a bit, seeing four shows over three weekends, and it’s worked much better 🙂

The MICF is an institution in Melbourne, and it’s getting bigger and bigger every year.  Acts come to Melbourne from all over Australia, and also the world – it truly is an international festival, with acts coming to our fair shores from America, the UK, Ireland, and Canada, just to name a few. There’s still a week to go of the Festival, as it doesn’t finish until 20 April 2014, so there’s still time to take in a show if you haven’t already done so!

The first show I saw this year was Fool’s Gold featuring Frank Woodley.  Many Aussies will remember him as one half of the duo Lano and Woodley, but he’s now doing his own shows and he’s as awesome as ever.  His unique brand of physical comedy is hilarious, and when you add in the singing and dancing it becomes sublime!

I laughed for an hour straight and left with a sore stomach – to be fair, that also could’ve been because I’d eaten a massive pizza for dinner… I’ve seen Frank Woodley when he was part of the duo, and now I’ve seen every show he’s done since they split and he keeps getting better and better.  I can’t wait until the next show!

Next up was Dave Huges in Pointless – finally, Hughesy’s doing some new material!  It’s been so long, which is understandable given the commitments he had on breakfast radio with Nova100 and also in the evening with The Project, but it’s so great to see Hughesy getting back to his stand-up comedy roots where he belongs.

This guy is a legend of Aussie comedy, and it’s pretty easy to see why when the audience is in stitches the whole time.  He’s sharp witted and nothing is off limits – current events, celebrities and well-known personalities, and especially his family.  He’s irreverant and never politically correct – gotta love it!

The same night I saw Hughesy, I also saw Wil Anderson’s show Wiluminati – it was pretty convenient, they were showing one after the other in the same theatre!  Another well known Aussie comedian, also irreverant, it made for a very interesting night!

I must admit, I never used to be a fan of Wil Anderson, I didn’t get his particular brand of humour.  He was a bit too political for my tastes.  But I don’t know if he’s become less political or I”ve become more so, but since I first saw his show about 4-5 years ago I haven’t looked back.  In fact, I’ve been to every one since!  Another show where nothing is off limits, I particularly enjoyed hearing about his overseas travels, his dodgy hips and everything in between.

Last, but certainly not least, is Tommy Little in Middleclass Gangster.  I’m off to see Tommy over the weekend, and I’m pretty excited!  Tommy is a relative newcomer to the Aussie comedy scene, but his popularity has skyrocketed over the last 18 months since I first heard of him.

He was MCing a comedy gig when I first saw him 18 months ago, and my friends and I thought he was pretty hilarious – his jokes about netball had us in stitches.   We looked him up when the MICF rolled around last year and managed to get tickets – what a great night that was, front row seats!  Since then, he’s been on Channel 10’s This Week Live and A League of Their Own, and this year he took over the breakfast radio gig on Nova100 with Meshel Laurie.  Now when I say I’m going to see Tommy Little, people don’t say “who?” 🙂

If you’re in Melbourne and you’ve got nothing to do until 20 April 2014, see if you can grab tickets to a show and settle in for some laughs.  You won’t regret it!

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

