A is for… Adorkable by Sarra Manning (Review)

4

April 1, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Adorkable by Sarra Manning
Publisher/Year: Atom, 24 May 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Paperback
Source:
I bought it!
Other books from author: 
Let’s Get Lost, You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me, Unsticky, the Diary of a Crush Series, the Fashionista Series, and many more

Book Depository | Goodreads | Twitter | Website

Goodreads Synopsis

Welcome to the dorkside. It’s going to be a bumpy ride…

Jeane Smith’s a blogger, a dreamer, a dare-to-dreamer, a jumble sale queen, CEO of her own lifestyle brand and has half a million followers on twitter.

Michael Lee’s a star of school, stage and playing field. A golden boy in a Jack Wills hoodie.

They have nothing in common but a pair of cheating exes. So why can’t they stop snogging?

What I Thought…

The tagline at the bottom of the cover is a perfect explanation for how I felt about this book: “Love, Hate, Whatever.”  There were things about it that I loved, there were things about it I hated, and by the end I was feeling pretty ‘whatever’ about it.

It was great to read a YA book set in England, I actually can’t think of many others I’ve read with an English setting!  I do love all things British… I quite liked Manning’s style of writing; I found it breezy and enjoyable, and it flowed really well.  I would have no problems reading other books she’s written, and there’s certainly quite a few of them!  I also really liked the premise of the character of Jeane as a strong and successful female at a very young age, as I feel this is something we don’t see much of in YA fiction.  Unfortunately, that was probably all I liked about Jeane, which is a bit of a problem given that she’s the MC…

I guess my main problem with this book was the characters.  While I liked the idea of Jeane, Jeane herself was a bitchy cow!  There’s really no other way to describe her.  I felt sorry for her at times, given the situation with her family and how they’ve all left her to fend for herself, but then she would do/say something and any sympathy I had for her situation quickly disappeared.  I especially hated how she treated Barney, and her treatment of Michael wasn’t much better.  Michael was a bit of a pushover at times, and I wasn’t sure if this was because Jeane was such a strong character.  The storyline between them was also a bit predictable.  Jeane’s family drove me crazy; I couldn’t understand how they could leave her on her own at her age – that just boggled my mind, although I’m sure there’s people out there like that.

What I did enjoy was the inclusion of social media in the book, particularly Twitter.  It felt like a very current portrayal of the world of young adults, and it was done in a manner that felt natural.  There’s nothing more annoying than the inclusion of social media or emails or text messages in books that’s done in a really jarring way – this really puts me off because I really hate losing my train of thought.  Manning makes it appear seamless and effortless, so a big thumbs up for that.

This book should’ve had everything I love: high school romances, blogging and bloggers, popular guy falling in love with the dorky girl, dorky characters in general!  Unfortunately the execution of these elements were a little off for me and it never quite came together in the end.

I was a bit indifferent to this book by the time I finished it and it didn’t leave any lasting impressions.  I think it was more the characters that turned me off this book, as I did enjoy Manning’s writing.  Because of this, I look forward to checking out some of her other books in the future.

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Have you read this book?  What did you think of it?  What about Sarra Manning in general, are you a fan?

4 thoughts on “A is for… Adorkable by Sarra Manning (Review)

  1. Lottie says:

    Thanks for the review Bernadette! I recently added this to my TBR, but only because I loved her Diary of a Crush trilogy when I was in primary school.

  2. Cait says:

    I’ve heard of this, but never really looked into it. I think the title is all sorts of awesome..buuuut, if the narrator is that awful? Yikes. Me no likee. I HATE characters I can’t relate to on any level. What’s the point of the book then?! I’ve read books sent in England, and I love it! It’s like travelling from your own bed. 😉 hehe.

    • I’m totally the same – if I can’t connect to the main character on some level, I’m unlikely to like the book. I can handle hateful peripheral characters, or even hateful MCs that have some explanation for that, but I wasn’t feeling with this one… IMO, there’s no point to a book if I can’t relate to the MC, even on a negative level. Not cool at all! But the title was pretty cool, it’s what sucked me in!
      Aside from the classics (Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, pretty much all Jane Austen!) I’ve actually read very little books set in England! I’m going to have to fix that methinks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

