Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That I’m Excited To See Turned Into Movies in 2014

6

March 23, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

SuperSixSundayII
Super Six Sunday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Bewitched Bookworms 🙂

Today’s topic is Books That I’m Excited To See Turned Into Movies in 2014 and it’s made me realised that while there are some big adaptations happening, I”ve read very little of the books that inspired them.  As such, I haven’t restricted myself only to books I’ve read that are being adapted into movies.  Allow me to recommend you six books that I’m excited to see turned into movies in 2014 🙂

                               

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I read this last year and it touched me as much as everyone said it would.  I hope this is done well, and I’ll be very disappointed if it isn’t…

                               

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins (Part 1): I made plans last year to see Catching Fire with a friend, but there was one small problem – I hadn’t read the series or seen the first movie… Whoopsies.  I was able to watch The Hunger Games the night before I went and saw Catching Fire, but after seeing both films I was desperate to read the trilogy to find out how it ends.  I got the books for Christmas from my brother a week later and I binge-read the entire series in less than 5 days, only stopping when I was forced to eat, sleep, go to work and spend time with family.  Needless to say, November cannot come soon enough!

                              

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien: The final installment of The Hobbit, There and Back Again, comes out on Boxing Day and it should be a cracker.  It will be the end of an era, no more Middle Earth on Boxing Day! (Poster’s not yet released, so I’ve used the one for Desolation of Smaug 🙂 )

                               

The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel & Bret Witter: This is a bit of a cheat because the film has already been released, even in Australia, but I haven’t seen it yet so I’m adding to the list 🙂 I haven’t read this book, but I’ve seen the previews for this film and it looks pretty funny.  Nazi Germany and World War II is a topic I’ve studied a lot, both in high school and at University, and I think I’d really enjoy this.

                               

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: Another one on my TBR list and without a poster, I REALLY want to read this one.  I usually enjoy Ben Affleck’s films, and the synopsis sounds quite interesting.  I’ve only heard good things about this book, and I suspect the adaptation will be well done given the names attached to the project.

                               

Serena by Ron Rash: I’d never heard of this book until recently, but I’m down with ANY movie where Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence join forces!  Again, no poster, so enjoy the pic from the set 🙂

There you have it!  Any books on my list that take your fancy?  What books would you recommend?

6 thoughts on “Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That I’m Excited To See Turned Into Movies in 2014

  1. I’d love to see The Fault In Our Stars and Gone Girl as film adaptations but I don’t really go to the cinema often these days… There’s always 2015 and DVD eh!

    You should try and read Gone Girl, it’s a great read if you enjoy psychological thrillers. I was pleasantly surprised when I read it.

    🙂

    • Yeah, I’m always behind the times with these sorts of things – I’m excited for all those films but chances are I’ll probably only see TFiOS and Mockingjay at the cinemas. Case in point: I was excited for Pitch Perfect when it came out but only saw it yesterday for the first time… It came out in 2012 🙂

  2. Cait says:

    I’m so so so excited for TFIOS. I mean, argh, I can’t even …. I CAN’T WAIT FOR IT. I’m really excited for The Giver. I know the preview isn’t much yet, but still. It was one of my favourite books when I was little and I just am so happy they’re making it into a movie. 🙂

    • I TOTALLY agree re TFIOS, I’m gonna have to put it out of my head for a while or June will never arrive!
      I actually never read The Giver when I was little, but it’s really cool when they make childhood faves into movies – hopefully it lives up to your expectations 🙂

  3. sarahdtowne says:

    Great post. Love your graphics! Do you make them yourself?

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

