Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up! Isla and the Happily Ever After Is FINALLY Coming and More…

4

March 12, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!ย  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s been a busy week, and with the long weekend I’ve had plenty of time to procrastinate on the interwebs…

It’s official: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins, long awaited sequel to Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, has an ACTUAL RELEASE DATE!ย  I’m so happy!

So, Book Riot smacks down the stupidest argument I’ve ever heard in my life, that JK Rowling should stop writing adult fiction because she’s sucking the life out of the industry by being so successful and not giving other authors room to breathe…ย  An argument put forward by someone who freely admits to never having read HP.ย  WTF.ย  No seriously, WTF.

Moving on from that insanity, check out these libraries of the rich and famous and also this how-to guide of reading while travelling (and being left alone).ย  I found they really helped with the whole my-head-is-going-to-explode sensation brought on by the previous article!

These ‘rules’ for reading are awesome and more people should be aware of them ๐Ÿ™‚ The real message in these rule: don’t let anyone’s judgments mess with you; read what you want, when you want and how you want!

Have you guys heard of Bookishly?ย  Louise makes some of THE most gorgeous prints, I really want one (or two, or ten…)!

As always, my obligatory Buzzfeed roundup:

  1. 29 Reasons Why Melbourne Is The World’s Most Liveable City: I can vouch for this ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve personally experienced numbers 12 and 19 on a regular basis, and I especially love number 20 – it’s so very true!
  2. Which Babysitter Are You?: If you were an aficionado of The Babysitter’s Club while growing up, this is the quiz for you!ย  FYI, I got Mallory Pike, and I can’t say I’m particularly surprised ๐Ÿ™‚
  3. 22 Books You Should Read Based On Your Childhood Favourites: If I was to give this a try, I’d start with the equivalent for Anne of Green Gables.
  4. The Oscars 2014: YA Books Edition: A bookish take on the Oscars, featuring my favourite genre!ย  What more could a girl ask for?
  5. Which Jane Austen Hero is Your Soulmate?: And making up for the horror that was last week (Dean on Gilmore Girls… *shudder*), I got Mr Darcy!ย  Best day ever ๐Ÿ™‚

Finally, the BBC examines the joys and comforts of re-reading (which I LOVE doing), bookstore etiquette is VERY important, some reading nook inspirations that make me very jealous, the influence teen bloggers are having on reading globally, and 25 YA novels everyone should read, even adults.

In The Blogosphere – Posts I Liked
  • Chantelle from Fat Mum Slim shared her secrets for faking a clean home
  • Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner talked about reading more than one book at a time, which I do A LOT…
  • Carly from Smaggle outlined 6 facts that could save your life in a bushfire (sorry for the PSA, but this is an issue I feel strongly about)
  • Rachel from [Fikt]shun shared her random thoughts on book descriptions and the impact they can have on a book
  • Daisy from The Broke and the Bookish told us about her shelf of shame, where she keeps all the books she’s bought in series she hasn’t started yet… I can relate to this!
  • Ashley from Nose Graze considered her difficulties in reviewing popular books, particularly her feeling that she has little to add to the already extensive conversation about these popular books
  • Alexandra Franzen talked about why we’re all a big deal as bloggers, whether we have an audience of 6 or 600 per post
  • Cait from The Notebook Sisters shared 5 self-promo methods that bloggers and/or authors should completely avoid
  • Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide lowered her reading goals and discussed the pressures of blogging in a Book Therapy Session.ย  She also gave her tips for those going to BEA (Book Expo America) for the first time, and all I can think is *I’m so jealous!*
  • Kelly from Belle of the Literati talked about the definition of amazing and what makes a book a 5 star book in her eyes
  • Ginger from GReads! discussed venturing outsider your reading zone, which is definitely something I should do more often (and not just with reading!)
  • Amanda from On a Book Bender looked at the different types fo editting a book needs and should go through

Finally, this video gave me some laughs and I hope you enjoy it!

That’s all for this week, have a good one!

Happy Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up! Isla and the Happily Ever After Is FINALLY Coming and More…

  1. As always, you shared some great links and lists. I added a few books to my potential wishlist from ‘YA novels everyone should read’. Thanks for sharing!!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! I love doing this post because I can share what Iโ€™ve stumbled across during the week, itโ€™s great fun! I added a few books to my TBR list myself from that article โ€“ articles like that are great for adding books to the wishlist but at the same time they also make my never-ending TBR list even longer ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Carly Jacobs says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

