Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 All Time Favourite Books By Australian Authors

12

March 11, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Top Ten All Time Favourite Books in X Genre and I’ve chosen to spotlight Australian Authors!  This was easy to begin with but became harder as the list went on – clearly, I’m not reading enough books by my fellow Aussies… It’s a bit of a mish-mash from my childhood to my adult years and everything in between, so here we go!

TTT 11 Mar (1)

TTT 11 Mar (2)

  1. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: I’m pretty sure I’ve made it clear just how much I love this book!  In case you missed it, here’s my gushing review 🙂
  2. Any other book by Melina Marchetta: Jellicoe Road deserves a place all on it’s own, but this list wouldn’t be complete without Marchetta’s other books – Looking for Alibrandi, Saving Francesca, The Piper’s Son, and while I haven’t read The Lumatere Chronicles yet, I’m sure they’d make the list too if I had!
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: Another amazing book by an Aussie author, I read this earlier this year for the first time before the movie was released and it made a huge impact on me.  It’s as amazing as everyone says it is, including me 🙂
  4. The House of Memories by Monica McInerney: Another of my favourites, this book was moving and thought provoking.  I’ve loved it every time I read it, and it definitely established Monica McInerney as one of my new favourite authors.
  5. Tomorrow series by John Marsden: This is a favourite from my childhood, and a rare series that my brother and I both enjoyed reading.  I’d love to re-read them through adult eyes and see if they maintain the same impact, but I’m afraid they’ll be ruined for me somehow if I do…
  6. Jessica by Bryce Courtenay: I first read this when I was in high school and it’s always stayed with me as an amazing book.  From what I hear, this is not unusual for Bryce Courtenay’s books, he’s always been held in very high regard in Australia.
  7. Ashbury/Brookfield series by Jaclyn Moriarty: These were go-to books for me during my teenaged years, I always felt like part of the Ashbury/Brookfield gang when I read these books – Moriarty has a way of making you feel immersed in her literary worlds 🙂 I still love to pick up these books even all these years later!
  8. Finders Keepers series by Emily Rodda: I read these books so many times when I was younger, they always kept me entertained!  I remember carrying these books around with me to read at family events when I got bored, a cousin’s wedding in particular!  While the books may have changed, this habit certainly hasn’t 😀
  9. Queen Kat, Carmel and St Jude Get a Life by Maureen McCarthy: McCarthy writes amazing coming-of-age stories, and this book is no exception.  It’s real, it’s gritty and it’s a realistic portrayal of each character’s struggle to cope with the changes brought on by moving from rural Australia to the Big City for university.
  10. Chain of Hearts by Maureen McCarthy: Another of McCarthy’s fabulously written coming-of-age tales, I cry my eyes out every time I read this book.  I know I probably should’ve picked a book by another Aussie Author, so my list could be more well-rounded, but then I thought “screw that, I wanna focus on the books I LOVE!”  This is definitely one of my all time favourites.

How about you, what genre did you choose to spotlight?  Have you read any other books by Australian Authors that you could recommend to me?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 All Time Favourite Books By Australian Authors

  1. I really need to read Melina Marchetta at some point – Jellicoe Road has been on my TBR for ages, and I think she wrote a book that was adapted into a film ages ago and that my film lecturer mentioned as really good (something Alibrandi, can’t remember the whole name). I’m sorry to say I haven’t read any of these, but I just added a couple of them to Goodreads so I won’t forget about them 🙂 Have a great day!

  2. Keri B. says:

    I didn’t remember Zusak was Australian. Good list.
    Here’s my Top 10

  3. Chelsea says:

    The Book Thief was really good! What do you think about it being made into a movie? Check ours out over @ Two Bookish Girls

  4. It’s great that you chose to showcase some of your fellow Aussies – very patriotic!
    I didn’t realise Markus Zusak was Australian… You learn something new every day eh.
    🙂

    • I wanted to do something a bit different – I suspected a lot of people would do contemporary YA, which was my other idea, so I decided against doing that. I didn’t think many would focus on Aussie authors and this way I could shine the spotlight on some of my faves 🙂

  5. dramagoddess says:

    Great list. I reread the Tomorrow series through adult eyes, well older teenage eyes, and it completely ruined it for me…to the point where I really couldn’t stand it. I can’t believe the difference a few years made.
    I hesitated in reading the Lumatere chronicles for a while as well, despite being a crazy Marchetta fangirl. Read it as soon as you can, its incredible!! 🙂 The Book thief is one of my favourites as well!

    • Yeesh, I may not reread the Tomorrow series again after your comment! To be fair, I have so many other books I want to read right now and it’s not really top of the list, but I had an inkling that rereading it might ruin it (and I’m well out of my teenaged years 🙂 )
      The Lumatere Chronicles is definitely on my list of books to read without delay, I’m going to have to track them down at the library 🙂

  6. […] in 2012 and still haven’t read it, despite the fact that it’s written by one of my fave Aussie authors – let’s change […]

  7. […] Not quite sure how that happened!  Maybe it’s an unintentional follow-on from my Top Ten Tuesday last week?  Anyways, here’s what I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

