Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That Made My Heart Hurt

6

March 2, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

SuperSixSundayII
Super Six Sunday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the lovely ladies at Bewitched Bookworms 🙂

I missed last week’s Super Six Sunday, but I’m back in the saddle this week! Today’s topic is Books That Made My Heart Hurt and I’ve focused on three YA books and three Adult Fiction books.  Allow me to recommend you six books I’ve read that made my heart hurt 😦

SSS 2 March

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Everything about this book made my heart hurt, especially the brutal concept of the Hunger Games and Katniss volunteering in Prim’s place. And Rue, sweet little Rue! 😦
  2. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson: What Taylor and her family go through in their last summer together at the Poconos is both heartwarming and heartbreaking. This one made my heart hurt for personal reasons, but I think you’d have to be made of stone not to feel SOMETHING when reading this book!
  3. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: My love for this book is epic. A lot of that comes down to all the feels it gives me, and it’s FULL of hurty feels. Taylor has been through so much more than any ordinary seventeen year old girl and what she learns about her family in her quest to find her mother is so tragic. No matter how many times I read this book, it makes me cry without fail.
  4. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: The concept of Anna being conceived as a bone marrow match for her older sister Kate makes my heart hurt, as did the shock ending to this book. I empathise with the Fitzgeralds in wanting to keep their eldest daughter alive, but somewhere along the way they’ve lost sight of Anna being anything more than a donor for Kate and that was so very heartbreaking for me.
  5. The House of Memories by Monica McInerney: I don’t think I could ever go through such a tragic loss like Ella and Aidan, it makes my heart hurt just thinking about it. This book follows Ella’s attempts to deal with her grief, and I spent much of my time reading this book grieving alongside her.
  6. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick: I actually haven’t finished reading this book, but I had to put it down because of how much it was making my heart hurt to read it at the time. This book tackles mental illness from the perspective of a mentally ill person, and I hope to one day finish this book – I’m sure it’s going to be brutal!

There you have it!  Any books on my list that take your fancy?  What books would you recommend?

6 thoughts on “Super Six Sunday: Super 6 Books That Made My Heart Hurt

  1. Lottie says:

    Great post Bernadette! I definitely agree with you on The Hunger Games, My Sister’s Keeper and The Silver Linings Playbook!

  2. Jodi Picoult’s novels always pull at my heart strings… I haven’t read The Silver Linings Playbook yet but I’ve heard great things.
    🙂

  3. I totally forgot about My Sister’s Keeper. Total heart-fail with that book. And the Hunger Games were agonizing to read too. Great list, and thanks for posting your picks.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

