Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up! Invisible Bookshelves, The Coming Of Power Laces and More…

2

February 26, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another edition of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week 🙂

This gif never gets old.  Nor does this dance.

How cool are these invisible bookshelves on Book Riot!  I want them all but I don’t think my landlord would be so keen, except for the book tower 🙂 I also stumbled across literary fashion on Book Riot, and signs for when you’ve been reading too much YA… I too am still pissed that I haven’t received my letter to Hogwarts.  Also, if you don’t commute and have always thought that you don’t have time to listen to audiobooks, think again.

POWER LACES ARE COMING!!! I’m so excited I can barely stop jumping around! In honour of the 30th anniversary of BTTF in 2015, also the year Marty travels to in BTTF2, Nike are FINALLY making all of our dreams come true 😀 This pleases me greatly, in case you hadn’t already noticed.

If you’re an Aussie and a child of the ’90s, there’s no way you could’ve missed the amazing TV show A*mazing 🙂 Here are some amazing facts you never knew about that amazing show A*mazing!

Speaking of childhoods, here’s 41 ways yours and mine could’ve been completely different.  Way to go Herald Sun, thanks for scaring the bejeezus out of me!

Melina Marchetta discussed THE question that has been bugging me since I first heard that On the Jellicoe Road was being made into a film: when is that going to happen exactly?  This post does absolutely nothing to tamper down my excitement, just sayin’.

As always, Buzzfeed was an excellent procraastination tool; here are some articles that caught my fancy this week:

  1. 16 Things Only People With Unique Names Will Understand – You may not think Bernadette is particularly unique but my full name is, and I related to EVERY SINGLE THING on this list.
  2. If “Friends” Had Used Suggested Hashtags – Hashtags are everywhere these days, but they were nothing but a rarely used symbol during Friends run between 1994 and 2004.  Some of these were pretty funny 🙂
  3. The Essential Ranking Of All 52 Characters From “One Tree Hill” – This was essential reading in the extreme.  I totally approve of psycho Nanny Carrie coming in dead last, but I don’t agree with Whitey placing higher than Dan, Keith, Karen AND Skills.  Just no.  I also didn’t agree with number 1, Nathan will always be number 1 for me, nor do I approve of Rachel Gatina placing in at number 2 – hell to the no! There is no way she places higher than EVERYONE except Brooke, how ridiculous!
  4. 19 Truly Charming Places To See Before You Die – This calmed me down after my OTH freak-out… As you can see, I’m very passionate (aka crazy) about my OTH!

And if that’s not enough for you, here’s 16 of the most anticipated YA books being published in March, along with 11 YA books that will totally make you cry… I know I did 😦

Bookish Blogroll Round-Up
  • Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner spoke about a bookish habit near and dear to my heart: carrying a few books around in my bag AT ALL TIMES.
  • Kelly from Belle of the Literati considered the age-old question – can boys and girls ever be just friends?  The jury’s still out on that one…
  • Ashley from Nose Graze shared her system for sorting out her TBR shelves, and I really like it!
  • Julie and Rose of Chapter Break examined reading turn-offs; things that generally turn them off when reading a book.  They also considered what 3-star reviews mean to them, and their usefulness in determining whether or not to read a particular book.
  • Hannah of Book Haven Extraordinaire wondered whether book buying is really the problem we make it out to be, when reading is clearly something we enjoy doing.
  • Mime from The Notebook Sisters looked at why readers become so addicted to series. My problem is that I always have to know how something ends…
  • A shared feature between Erin and Jaime from Fiction Fare and Kassiah and Meg from Swoony Boys Podcast considered how to decide what next to read, which is always a difficult question for me to answer 🙂
  • Adele at Persnickety Snark looked at how authors can avoid being an annoying pain in the butt on Twitter, and she makes some very valid points!
  • The lovely ladies at Bewitched Bookworms celebrated its 4th anniversary, congrats guys!
  • Forever Young Adult is starting up their annual March Madness bracket shortly, this year focusing on awesome teen TV.  If it ever comes down to Gilmore Girls v OTH, I’m gonna be in some serious trouble…
  • Molli at Books and Whimsy took us on a tour of her bookshelves, so pretty 🙂
  • Kat from Cuddlebuggery spoke about the impact depression has had on her life, an issue which is pushed under the rug entirely too often IMO.  There’s been more of a focus in the media on the impacts of depression since Charlotte Dawson was found to have taken her own life after suffering from the disease (RIP gorgeous girl), but this unfortunately all dies down when the focus isn’t on someone high profile.
  • Elena of Novel Sounds gave 5 very important reasons why you MUST read Rainbow Rowell’s awesome books, and you really should!
  • Lori from The Broke and the Bookish examined the value of notebooks.  Hi, I’m Bernadette and I’m a notebook-aholic.  It’s true.  I have so many and none of them are filled before I go and buy new ones!  I blame Typo for my problems.

That’s all for this week, have a good one!

Happy Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up! Invisible Bookshelves, The Coming Of Power Laces and More…

  1. Molli says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Bernadette! I’m so glad you enjoyed my bookshelf tour — I had fun with it. And I love this feature of yours. There are so many awesome links I’m going to HAVE to check out.

    Have a fabulous week, love!

    • Anytime Molli! I know I’ve been a bit silent on the commenting front but I love your blog and thought the post just HAD to be shared 🙂
      I hope you’re able to use this post as the procrastination tool it’s intended to be – I know these links have all helped me in my time of need!
      Enjoy the week, or what’s left of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

