Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND! Top 10 Favourite Places To Read

11

February 25, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!Β  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go…

Today’s topic is Rewind, and this means I get to pick which topic I want to redo that’s already been done!Β  Oh course, in my case it’s not so much redoing a topic as it is picking one of the MANY I haven’t done before, but that’s fine by me πŸ™‚ I’ve decided to share my top ten favourite places to read with some of my instagram photos to help illustrate the points, so here we go!

photo_6

In My Bed: There is nothing better than curling up with a good book in bed, amirite?! Before I go to sleep at night or when I wake up in the morning, either way, I’m not fussed πŸ™‚

photo_9

On My Couch: That’s me curled up under a blanket on my couch… in case you haven’t figured it out yet, I do enjoy a good curl πŸ™‚ While the telly’s on, it’s not unusual to also see me reading a book at the same time during the boring bits and the ads!

photo_10photo_7In The Sun: What better way to get your Vitamin D than by reading in the sun?! Of course, don’t forget to Slip, Slop, Slap!

photo_4

On Public Transport: I don’t commute into the CBD very often anymore, but when I used to I enjoyed reading on the train to pass away the time.Β  Planes, trains, buses (that’s where I am in the photo above!) or even automobiles, I do need a bit of soft background music on the iPod to help take my mind off where I actually am at the time – if not, my stomach gets VERY queasy and there’s not much reading that can be done once that occurs!

photo_11

On The Beach: I’m not a huge beach person (I know, blasphemy from an Australian!) but I do love to settle in with a good book when I do go.Β  The photo above is from my trip to Hawaii a few years ago and I’m hoping to do some more travel this year – maybe somewhere beachy for a good place to read!

photo_5

In My Bed (Part 2): I’ve moved out of home but I still spend a lot of my weekends at my parents’ house, which is also where my good bedroom suite is…Β  Long story short, it was too much hassle to move at the time, but if (when) I move again I’m swapping my bedroom furniture around.Β  Given how much I love this bed, it’s only fair that it has it’s own place in this post πŸ™‚

photo copyphoto_1

At The Footy: As you can see from the pictures of Etihad Stadium and the MCG above, I often get to the footy pretty early when I go by myself.Β  I’m usually there a good hour before the game starts to make sure I have a good seat, hence the half empty seating above.Β  What better way to pass the time in between watching the boys warm up and the start of the match than with a good book? Especially when Captain Carlton is the alternative – no thanks, stupidest mascot EVER.

photo_3

In A Cafe: Sitting in a cafe with a hot beverage (it’s used to be hot chocolate, but thanks to my new-found lactose intolerance it’s now tea) and a book – this doesn’t happen nearly often enough, but I love it when it does!

photo

In A Bookstore/Library: I love reading where I’m surrounded by books, and that’s something bookstores and libraries have in common.Β  I don’t have a photo of a bookstore or library at the ready, so I’ve used one of mine that shows a snippet of my home library – I also have a couple of other bookshelves that can’t be seen in this photo πŸ™‚

photo_8

On My Nonna’s Couch: I spent hours every day after school reading on my nonna’s couch when I was growing up; it was my all-time favourite place to read back in the day.Β  I’d be lying down on her three-seater couch, while she’d sit on the other couch next to me knitting and yelling at the TV in Italian πŸ™‚ Those were the days!Β  She passed away 7.5 years ago, and I don’t have a photo of the couch on hand (I’m sure I could dig one up at mum and dad’s house but that would take FOREVER), so I thought I’d share one of my favourite photos of the two of us instead.

How about you, what topic did you do for the TTT Rewind?Β  Or, if you’re not a TTT-er, where do you love to read?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: REWIND! Top 10 Favourite Places To Read

  1. mary says:

    omg you cannot believe my jealousy of those pictures of Etihad stadium– I was going to write “aw your reading spots look so cozy” but now I’m coming to say that we’re big Man City fans all the way over in Ohio, US! They’re coming to play in Pittsburgh in July and we’ve already got tickets, my husband is over the (blue) moon!

    Here’s my TTT!

  2. jdai90 says:

    Great post! I love reading in bed and in the sun as well. Although sometimes I end up dozing off :P.

  3. I usually can be found reading in my comfy armchair with my feet propped up on a footstool. If not there, my next choice would be on my parents couch – as long as the dogs aren’t hogging the thing. My top ten post – on series I’ve not finished yet – can be found here: http://pagesofstarlight.blogspot.com/2014/02/top-ten-series-i-have-yet-to-finish.html

  4. Katherine says:

    Wow, this is such a good topic for rewind week! I did top ten characters you would never want to be. And you have such beautiful pictures to go with them all!

  5. Great list — at least you can read in semi-open areas with noise. I on the other hand require absolute silence for the most part.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. anotherafterthought
    My TTT: Rewind This Week

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

