Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up! A New JKR Book, Heavyweights and More…

Leave a comment

February 19, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Welcome to another week of Wednesday’s Weekly Wrap-Up!  For lack of a better title, this is where I share with you all of the (mostly bookish) interesting bits and pieces I’ve bumbled across in the past week, really anything that takes my fancy 🙂

J.K. Rowling is releasing a new book under her Robert Galbraith pseudonym, Silkworm, which is due to be released in June 2014.  The Cuckoo’s Calling is on my ever-growing TBR list, I really should get to it…

Speaking of JKR, Bookriot says that her mistake was not pairing Ron and Hermione together, as mentioned in a previous post.  Rather, Bookriot makes the argument that JKR’s mistake was adding the epilogue in the first place.  I’m not sure that I agree, but then I am the type that prefers the neat-and-tidy-with-a-bow kind of ending!

It’s the 20th anniversary of the movie Heavyweights!  My brother and I LOVED this movie when we were kids, we watched it so many times I reckon I could still quote it.  Disney has put together some of their favourite moments, and I love each and every one 🙂

Epic Reads recommends 30 Contemporary YA Romance Reads – some of these I’ve read, but it’s a great list and most of those I haven’t read will be going straight on the TBR list… will it ever end?!

Also on Epic Reads, they also had a post on Mystery YA Pairings thatI found interesting – you have to think of a book to pair with each description.  I”m hopeless at these sorts of things though…

Bookriot contemplates 5 bookish jobs that would make our lives as a reader so much easier – personally, I would love a book butler or a talk blocker!

Bookish Blogroll Round-Up
  • Posh at Forever Young Adult considers 152 reasons why she loves You’ve Got Mail, and I love every single one!
  • Liz at Along for the Read listed 100 things she loves, in honour of Valentine’s Day – an interesting take on celebrating this ‘holiday’ which was far more my style 🙂
  • Alexa from Alexa Loves Books ran the Book Blogger Love-a-Thon, along with Katelyn from Kate’s Tales of Books and Bands – it looked like a lot of fun, I’m so participating next year, no excuses!
  • Maggie of Just a Couple More Pages looked at honesty in our critiques when blogging, and she made a lot of valid points that are helpful to me as a newbie blogger.
  • Lauren at Love is Not a Triangle considered what to do when a series doesn’t live up to the hype and breaks your heart – thankfully this hasn’t happened to me yet, but there’s a first time for everything…

And lastly, let’s wrap this up with the Ten Commandments of Clueless, thanks to the procrastination wonder that is Buzzfeed:

Update on the Full House marathon – I’m now up to the tail end of season 5… Addicted doesn’t even begin to cover it, I need help!

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

