Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books That Will Make You Cry

12

February 4, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

Top Ten Tuesday is THE bookish meme, hosted by the wonderful ladies at The Broke and the Bookish, the book blog that hooked me on all other book blogs!  I’m a sucker for bookish memes, so here we go… Today’s topic is Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry, a pretty easy topic for a crybaby like me!


  1. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson: This book is such a wonderful read and it touched me so much.  It made me laugh a lot but towards the end all it did was make me cry…
  2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I’ve only read this book once but one thing I remember is crying like a baby throughoout – I totally didn’t expect that ending and it got to me!
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: This book had me welling up all throughout the book, and I was bawling like a baby by the end of it, but it was one of those cries where I didn’t even realise I was crying until a few minutes after I’d started! Very strange… And very sad too.
  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling: This was the first HP book to make me cry with the death of a certain favourite character of mine.  I didn’t stop there, also crying in parts of both Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows!
  5. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: Another book where the unexpected ending slayed me, turning me into an absolute mess!  Can I just say, I hate how they changed the ending for the movie – unnecessary!
  6. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: This book didn’t make me full on cry, but I was welling up at times when Amy was thinking about what happened to her dad 😦
  7. Night by Elie Wiesel: I had to read this in high school but that didn’t make it any less upsetting, particularly given that it’s a true story.
  8. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks: Much like its movie counterpart, this book too had me weeping.
  9. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: I’ve read this book many, many times, and every time I do it slays me – you’d think I wouldn’t cry so much when I know what’s coming but apparently not!
  10. The House of Memories by Monica McInerney: If I experienced what Ella went through, I’m not sure I’d ever stop crying.  This book frequently moved me to tears.

So there you have it!  I feel like I need to grab the tissues after that 🙂 Basically anything with death, Nazis or cancer (sometimes more than one!) and I’m a sucker… Are there any on my list that you agree with?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. Fantastic list! I have three of these on my own list. I also really want to read your numbers 1, 6, 8 and 9.

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    A Walk To Remember is incredible! I can’t believe that I forgot to put it on my list. I need to read Jellicoe Road. I’m looking forward to reading Second Chance Summer. I’ve had it for a while now, but not got around to reading it! Great list!

  3. Makaela says:

    I had the same experience with Amy & Roger! I thought it was going to be a nice but sappy summer read. Little did I know, the characters & the writing would make me feel something!

  4. Great pick. I remember sobbing at A Walk to Remember the movie but not the book – I liked that NS left ending open, so that you have to decide whether she lives or dies and I was totally with him on that decision! My Sister’s Keeper made my list too, such a sad book and it had me sobbing like crazy. I picked HP 7 as it makes me cry from beginning to end. My TTT 🙂

  5. The Fault in Our Stars and Harry Potter both made my list too. I loved the movie of A Walk to Remember, but I haven’t read the book. Need to do that.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  6. BringMyBooks says:

    Oh, I have The Book Thief and a Harry Potter in my list as well. I chose HP7, but let’s be honest, everything from the point of the veil on, the tears were there, just waiting to fall!

    I also read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour,and while it didn’t make me cry, it was definitely moving. Great list, Bernadette!

    (Oh…and P.S. – your current read is in my top ten!)

    • Thanks! I have a feeling Between Shades of Gray is going to make me cry, but it didn’t feel right to include on the list when it hasn’t actually made me cry yet 🙂
      Totally agree about HP and the veil, that’s pretty much why I chose HP 5 rather than 6 or 7, because that was the first one to make me cry!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 184 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

