Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In OR Top 10 Characters I’d NEVER Want To Trade Places With

4

January 28, 2014 by Bernadette ~ The Bumbling Bookworm

My first Top Ten Tuesday!  I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, and now I’ve finally taken the plunge 🙂 Today’s topic is either Top Ten Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In OR Top Ten Characters I’d NEVER Want To Trade Places With, for those (like me) who don’t read many books with other worlds.

I couldn’t come up with ten for either, so I’ve decided to do five for each 🙂 Here we go!

Top 5 Worlds I’d Never Want to Live In:

  1. Panem ~ The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: As much as I loved the books, I can’t say that I have any desire WHATSOEVER to live in Panem.  Between the Hunger Games and the reapings, the poverty in the Districts, the outrageous opulence in the Capitol and President Snow’s iron fist, it doesn’t really appeal to me.  Even after the Second Rebellion, there is nothing about that world that calls to me as a place where I’d want to spend the rest of my days!
  2. Australia ~ Tomorrow, When the War Began by John Marsden: These books were staples in my house when I was growing up, they really are quite wonderfully unique books.  However, as much as I love my country, I couldn’t stand the thought in living in its incarnation in Tomorrow, When the War Began.  Australia is invaded by another country that is never named, implied to be from the Asian continent, and everyone in Ellie’s town is taken prisoner.  Doesn’t sound like happy fun times to me!
  3. Nazi Germany ~ The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: One could argue that Nazi Germany is the original Dystopian society; all I know is that this book made me so very glad that I do not and will never live there.  We read these books like The Hunger Games and Harry Potter, but this was actually based on something real and from what I’ve heard it was a pretty accurate version.
  4. The Soviet Union ~ Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys: I haven’t read this book yet but, much like The Book Thief and Nazi Germany, it was based on something real.  This book takes place during Stalin’s cleansing of the Baltic region, and it is another time period in our world’s history that I’m glad I don’t live in.
  5. Regency England ~ Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: Those of you who know me might be surprised by this, but as much as I love this book (and Mr Darcy!), there’s no way I could live in this world.  Forget the lack of mod-cons, I couldn’t live in a world with such a rigid class system where women are expected to be seen and not heard.  Not my style AT ALL!

Top 5 Characters I’d Never Want to Trade Places With:

  1. Katniss Everdeen ~ The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Much like I wouldn’t want to live in Panem, there is no way I would want to change places with Katniss under any circumstances!  Pretty self explanatory I’m sure…
  2. Harry Potter ~ Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: I love these books, and in my Super Six Sunday post I said how much I desperately wanted to live in this world created by JKR.  HOWEVER, of all the people to trade places with in that world, I wouldn’t choose Harry Potter – I can’t say I’m too keen to be hunted down by the guy responsible for killing my parents, with the fate of the whole wizarding world resting on my shoulders.  Not keen at all!
  3. Max Vandenburg ~ The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: To be a Jewish person in Nazi Germany must have been truly horrific, and the lengths they went to simply to stay alive were extreme.  I can’t say I would want to be in their position, with many people (including Max) losing everyone they know and love.
  4. Taylor Markham ~ On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: Another book I LOVE with a protagonist I wouldn’t trade places with.  Living in a school for mostly troubled youths, her mum’s abandoned her and she has no idea what’s happened to her dad, then her closest adult companion also seemingly abandons her.  It’s not a great time to be Taylor Markham, and the more we find out about her life in her early days and what’s happened to the adults around her, the less I want to trade places with her.
  5. Ella O’Hanlon ~ The House of Memories by Monica McInerney: I cannot imagine surviving after enduring such a tragic accident like Ella, and yet she somehow eventually manages to do so.  She rises above her grief and the blame she’s attributed on her husband and sister for causing her loss.  That being said, it’s not something I’d like to see form part of my life, and I hope I never have to endure a loss like this.

So there you have it!  My first Top Ten Tuesday 🙂 Are there any on my lists that you agree with?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Worlds I’d Never Want To Live In OR Top 10 Characters I’d NEVER Want To Trade Places With

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I definitely wouldn’t want to live in Panem. Katniss is cool, but I couldn’t be her! Welcome to Top Ten Tuesday 🙂

  2. BringMyBooks says:

    Some really good choices on here! Book Thief, Between Shades of Gray, and Pride & Prejudice were especially good choices. I actually just finished watching the BBC P&P, and even though I *love* how Lizzie stands up for herself, I don’t think I could stand having to be so … formal and polite all the time (especially to horrible people like Mr. Collins!).

    &&If you get a chance, you should definitely read Between Shades of Gray! It was so well written, even though it was totally heartbreaking. Hope to see you on some more TTT, I’ll keep an eye out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Bernadette, a 27 year old lawyer who loves to read (duh!), especially to escape my day job. I love to talk about books but I don't always get the opportunity to do so, hence my blog! I adore YA literature, most genres of Adult Fiction, and I've also been known to pick up a non-fiction book from time to time. I hope you enjoy your visit!



Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 185 other followers

Currently Reading:

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Bernadette (The Bumbling Bookworm) has completed her goal of reading 50 books in 2015!
hide

Archives

Categories

